liebster-award

A little bit of blogging recognition with The Liebster Award

I’m feeling proud as punch today. This is the second time I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award and while it’s no travel equivalent of the Oscar, it’s bloody marvelous to hear that someone out there likes my blog.

liebster-blog-award

Last time I was very naughty and didn’t fulfill my end of the Liebster Award deal, so this time I’m making sure I see it through until the end.

First things, first… Big thanks to Mrs Ayla’s Adventures who nominated me. Her blog has kept me thoroughly entertained with amazing travel tales from across the globe and I feel honoured to be nominated by her 🙂 I must apologise to Mrs Ayla however. I stupidly filled out the wrong questions – sometimes I wonder how I get through the day?! Nether-the-less, I deem that I have completed my end of the bargain with the below question and answers.

Oh, and in case any peeps out there aren’t sure what a Liebster Award is, here’s a brief explanation.

The Liebster Award is a simple way to show some good old-fashioned blogger love. If you’re lucky enough to be nominated, simple pass it forward by nominating your favorite bloggers. They will then pass it on their favourite bloggers and the whole Liebster process begins again.

Yes, it may seem like the dreaded ‘chain mail’ fiasco of the 90s, but personally I think it’s a great way to give someone a little recognition (if only small) in this overcrowded cyber-world.

So, what do you have to do?

1. Be polite
Always thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.
2. Share your experiences
Answer 10 questions given to you by the nominator – or in my case, the wrong 10 questions… sorry!
3. Share the love
Nominate the blogs you love for the award and let them know
4. Get quizzical
Write 10 questions for your nominees to answer

Easy peazy!

Right let’s get on with this…

My 10 Questions & Answers

1) If you lost your passport somewhere and had to be stranded, where would you choose and why?
Without any hesitation, I’d have to pick Greece! I’ve spent many a package holiday there, and I’d quite happily spend many more. The summer weather is simply heaven (and great for tanning too), the scenery is stunning and the people are amazing! To top it off, the local cuisine is delicious – I could literally eat my own body weight of moussaka!

I’d love to try Greek island hopping one day and visit the Acropolis of Athens.

zante-greece
Turtle island in Zante, Greece – amazing place for swimming in the sea!

2) What is your most embarrassing travel tale?
The time I slipped over on the bathroom floor of a hostel in Barcelona springs to mind, but that could happen anywhere in the world, right? Anyways, I guess I’m lucky I don’t have a lot of embarrassing stories to tell – touch wood.

3) If your boat sank and you could rescue only one item from your backpack apart from your passport, what would it be?
CAMERA! I’m obsessed with pictures and holding onto memories. It would literally ruin my trip if I lost my camera – dramatic or what? But, the way I see it all other items can be replaced. Photos can’t be replaced so easily.

sagrada-familia-barcelona
The stunning and fascinating Sagrada Familia in Barcelona

4) If you were made the boss of an airline for a day and could make one change to make passengers lives better, what would it be and why?
Reclining beds for everyone! And maybe some Champagne to celebrate going off on your jollies. And burgers, lots of burgers. Oh and maybe Bruno Mars serenading me while I drift off to sleep.

I don’t think I’m being unrealistic at all.

5) If you could visit any country in any period of time, where would you go?
I’d be a Roman Goddess of course – living the dream with my hunky gladiator. Seriously though… the Romans have always fascinated me, and Italy is such an incredibly beautiful country. My past travels have led me to Florence, Venice, Verona, Pisa, and even Lake Garda – all of which have mesmerizing tales dating back to the Romans. I can only imagine what life would have been like for the people living in that era.

Visiting Naples and the ancient city of Pompeii is next on my list for Italy.

rome-italy
Rome’s iconic Colosseum with all it’s incredible ancient Roman history

6) What is your favourite thing about being a backpacker or traveller?
The world is a pretty big place and for me, there’s no better feeling than setting off on an adventure to a brand new destination. The unknown does scares me sometimes, but it’s nothing compared to the excitement I feel when I see the amazing sights the world has to offer. Trying new cuisines, experiencing new cultures, meeting amazing people and even learning how to say hello in a foreign language… it’s all part of the travelling package and I love it!

My favourite thing though… when I’m on the way home, staring out the little window on the plane with a huge grin on my face, thinking “Yeah. That really just happened.”

7) What is the thing you hate most about being a backpacker or traveller?
Tiredness. Let’s face it, travelling the world is super tiring and for someone like me, who needs at least 10hrs sleep a day the whole experience can be little exhausting. Nothing a bit of caffeine can’t cure though. Failing that… Beach. Hammock. Shades. Zzzzzzzzzzzzz.

8) Why do you write or blog about travel?
For years I’ve had good intentions to create scrapbooks after each new travel adventure. Something I can look back over when I’m old and wrinkly, and have nothing better to do than drink cups of tea all day. Sadly, I’ve never fulfilled this great intention.

Blogging was a simple way for me to jot my memories down, and it just so happens I get to share them with the world too. I love reading about other people’s experiences as well. I’m constantly finding myself feeling inspired through other blogs, and consequently, always planning my next escape.

lake-garda
Views of beautiful Lake Garda from the little town of Malcesine

9) Where would you like to see your blog/website in a year’s time?
I would honestly love it if me and my blog were sat under a palm tree with a coconut cocktail on the other side of the world. Travelling the world and getting paid to share my experiences would be THE ultimate dream. It might never happen, but boy…wouldn’t that be a lovely life?

10) Is travel how you define yourself?
I try not to define anything. Especially not myself. The world is a fickle place and we change so much throughout our lives. All I know is that I’m passionate about travel right now, and that’s good enough for me.

And… my nominations are *drum roll please*

Jodie of The Little Backpacker

Kirsten of Kirst Over The World

Amy of Amy Frank Worldwide Travel

Claire of Happy Adventures

Morgan of Travel Morgan Travel

I hope you all don’t mind me nominating you, and I apologise if you’ve already been nominated a hundred times before. I guess this is just me saying “I like your blog.” 🙂

Here’s my 10 Questions for you…

1.Which country is your all time favourite travel destination?
2.What are your top 3 travel essentials?
3.What’s your best travel experience?
4. What’s your worst travel experience?
5. What do you love most about travelling?
6. Which destination surprised you the most?
7. Where did your first travel adventure lead you?
8. What’s your day job or is blogging a full-time hobby?
9. What are your top tips for travel blogging?
10. What/who inspires you to travel?

Can’t wait to see all your answers 🙂

One thought on “A little bit of blogging recognition with The Liebster Award

  1. Haha doesn’t matter that you did different questions I still love you answers anyway! Although…10 hours sleep a day?! I need my sleep but 10 hours is pushing it! I know what you mean though – my South American travels are making me knackered at the mo. Need another holiday after the holiday! Great answers again 🙂

Leave a Reply

